Christ instituted the seven sacraments of the new law.  They touch all the important stages of Christian life.  They give birth to, and nourish, our spiritual life and create a bond between this and our natural life.

The 3 Sacraments of Christian initiation


Baptism is the basis of the whole of Christian life and is necessary for our salvation.  It is the gateway into life in the Spirit.  Through this sacrament we are freed from original sin, reborn as sons and daughters of God, and become temples of the Holy Spirit.  We become members of the Church which is the mystical body of Christ so that we might participate in his mission which is the salvation of the world.


Confirmation completes the grace of Baptism and forms a unity with it.  It creates an ability to be in communion with the Holy Spirit so that we might proclaim the works of God.  It gives a 'seal' of ownership by God and is a mark of our belonging to Christ.

The Eucharist

The Eucharist is the centre of our Christian Life.  It is Christ himself.  Bread and wine become the Body and Blood of Jesus and is the sign of our communion with God and the Church, and participation in the Divine Life.  When we receive this Sacrament we participate in Christ's redemptive sacrifice for our sins on Calvary.  It is the fulness - the depth, the breadth and the summit  - of God's love for us, and our acceptance of it.

The 2 Sacraments of Christian healing


Also called Confession or 'Reconciliation', 'Penance' is an act of conversion, of turning back to God.  It offer pardon and mercy from God for the offences we have committed against him.  It heals the wounds we have inflicted on ourselves, on others and on the body of the Church through our sins and the sins of others.  

Anointing of the Sick

Through this sacred anointing, the prayer of the priest and the whole Church commends those who are ill or suffering to the Passion and Glorification of the Lord who is our physician, that he may raise them up and save them. It brings peace, strengthening and courage.

The 2 Sacraments at the service of communion


The fundamental vocation of human beings is to love.  Marriage is a divine institution, written in the very laws of creation, by which the love between a man and a woman becomes a visible image of God's love in the world.  This image is to be fruitful (bearing and raising of children) and mutually strengthening.

Holy Orders

The conferral of Apostolic ministry to given by Christ to bishops, priests and deacons through the sacred power of the Holy Spirit for the carrying out of his mission through the Church.  Their role is to teach, heal and sanctify the people of God.